DiversityWELCOME TO DIVERSITY AT IU SOUTHEAST You are an important part of our quest to build a foundation for a diverse community in this region and the world. We invite you to explore the information, training opportunities, events, and resources that demonstrate our most recent efforts to enhance knowledge of and respect for difference and inclusivity.Decorative Image

Safe Zone

The Safe Zone program has been created to address the needs of our Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender students, faculty, staff and their allies. The program consists of training for students, faculty and staff to become safe zones. These individuals are there to listen and refer as well as be a safe space for others to share concerns, joys and experiences that they may not feel comfortable sharing in another setting.

In general, complaints involving discrimination based on sexual orientation should be investigated by the Director of Staff Equity & Diversity. To file a complaint, contact:

Darlene Young, Director
Office of Equity & Diversity
Phone: (812) 941-2306
E-mail: dyoung01@ius.edu

2015 Safe Zone Members
Name Email Contact
Annette Wyandotte awyandot@ius.edu
Barbara Thompson-Book bacthomp@ius.edu
Basil Mumaw III bmumaw@ius.edu
Brady Miller anbwood@ius.edu
Brigette Adams adamsbri@ius.edu
Chandra Matthews bchubbar@ius.edu
Channell Barbour * cbarbour@ius.edu
Charles Pooser clpooser@ius.edu
Charlie Edelen cedelen@ius.edu
Chris Lang wclang@ius.edu
Christine Thompson cclark01@ius.edu
Cindy Short shortca@ius.edu
Cliff Staten cstaten@ius.edu
Dana Gohmann * dgohmann@ius.edu
Darlene Young dyoung01@ius.edu
David Taylor dwtaylo2@ius.edu
Debra Campbell debrcamp@ius.edu
Greg Phipps ghphipps@ius.edu
Greg Roberts * grobert3@ius.edu
Gretchen Kirchner gkirchne@ius.edu
James Hollenbeck jehollen@ius.edu
Jean Abshire jeabshir@ius.edu
Jim Clements jlclemen@ius.edu
Joanna Durham-Barnes joedurha@ius.edu
Joanna Goldstein jgoldste@ius.edu
Julie Bethany jbethany@ius.edu
Julie Faulds TM624@bncollege.com
Kelly Bowling klbowlin@ius.edu
Kim Pelle kpelle@ius.edu
Kimberly Lewis lewis34@ius.edu
Leigh Ann Meyer lmeyer@ius.edu
Linda Gilray lgilray@ius.edu
Linda Jasper ljasper@ius.edu
Lynn Prinz mprinz@ius.edu
Maria Accardi * maccardi@ius.edu
Matt Springer mtspring@ius.edu
Meghan Kahn * mckahn@ius.edu
Michael Abernethy mabernet@ius.edu
Michael Day * micaday@ius.edu
Michael Jackman mijackma@ius.edu
Mildred Vernia mavernia@ius.edu
Mindy Badia mbadia@ius.edu
Miranda Thomas thomasmk@ius.edu
Monica Wise mswise@ius.edu
Pam White pwhite@ius.edu
Rachel Kynhoff Delbridge ** rkynhoff@ius.edu
Rebecca Turner rebeturn@ius.edu
Robin Morgan rmorgan@ius.edu
Ron Severtis Jr. * rseverti@ius.edu
Sam Earley searley@ius.edu
Saundra Gordon gordonse@ius.edu
Suzanne Broman sbroman@ius.edu
Todd Manson tmanson@ius.edu
Tom O'Neal joneal@ius.edu
Virginia Anderson vanderso@ius.edu
* Indicates Safe Zone Committee Member
** Indicates Safe Zone Committee Chair

Diversity Events Calendar