Music Department




THE AWARD: The one-year Rasmussen Theatre Awards provide qualified students with the equivalent of up to 15 credit hours of in-state tuition and fees. These awards, which are also available in music, are renewable for up to five years, provided that the student meets the obligations set forth in his/her award agreement. Applicants need not be Indiana state residents; however, the tuition and fee waiver cannot exceed that of 15 credit hours in-state per semester. Please note: residents of Bullitt, Jefferson, Oldham, Meade and Trimble counties in Kentucky are considered in-state residents.

QUALIFICATIONS: Students who receive this award will be selected on the basis of their past participation and success in theatrical production or performance, their grades, the strength of their recommendations, their audition and/or portfolio presentation, and their commitment to participation in a broad range of theatre. Students must have a minimum grade point avereage (GPA) of 2.5 to apply.

INFORMATION REQUESTED: Applicants must provide 1) The information requested on the required application form plus any additional material that the applicant considers relevant 2) Official transcripts of high school and college level work and 3) A minimum of three letters of recommendation. One of these letters may pertain to general character but two should attest to the applicant's interest and capability in theatre production and/or performance. This material should be sent directly to:

Theatre Department
Indiana University Southeast
4201 Grant Line Road
New Albany, IN 47150


For Actors: Students primarily interested in performance should prepare two brief audition selections (two to five minutes each). These may be solo or partnered, and the applicant's role should be memorized. Each selection should be introduced with a synopsis of essential information such as given circumstances and antecedent action.

For Technical/Production or Management/Promotion students: Non-actors should prepare a resume of relevant experience and present, at the time of the interview, a portfolio of such things as photos, playbills, drawings, plans, logs, or other records of the individual's interests and accomplishments. The applicant will be interviewed by the faculty.

OBLIGATIONS: Students who receive Rasmussen Theatre Awards will be expected to participate fully in IUS THEATRE activity in whatever capacity the theatre faculty deems appropriate. All recipients will be expected to participate in auditions at the beginning of each semester unless excused by the faculty; accept roles and/or production responsibilities assigned to them; meet rehearsal, production and performance commitments; aid in maintenance or recruitment or department development as needed. Recipients can expect a total time commitment of about 12-15 hours per week or about 100 hours per semester. They must avoid evening classes and commitments so they are free to rehearse and perform. Students must also maintain a minimum GPA of 2.5.


for the 2015-2016 Academic Year

Technical Theatre Students:
Saturday, March 7, 2015
10:00 a.m.–3:00 p.m. (by appointment)

Acting/Performance Students:
Saturday, March 21, 2015
10:00 a.m.–3:00 p.m. (by appointment)

Application Deadline:
Technical Students: Wednesday, March 4, 2015 at 5:00 p.m.
Performance Students: Wednesday, March 18, 2015 at 5:00 p.m.



1) Complete an application online.

2) Schedule your audition time by calling (812) 941-2655.


Complete the Scholarship Renewal Form and submit it by 5 p.m. on March 18, 2015.