Indiana University Southeast Indiana University Southeast IU Southeast

Menu Search

The Champions Dinner was designed to honor student-athletes and to raise funding for the IU Southeast athletic department. IU Southeast currently ranks in the bottom 10-percent for financial aid provided to its student-athletes as compared to other members of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA). This dinner will focus on raising funds to help offset the cost of tuition for student-athletes at IU Southeast. Funds from the dinner will also be used to help provide a great educational experience for our student-athletes.

2016 Champions Dinner

The 2016 Champions Dinner will be held in Plantation Hall at Huber’s Orchard, Winery, and Vineyards in Starlight, Indiana on Saturday, August 6.

  • 5 p.m. - Private Reception for Former Athletes
  • 6 p.m. - Doors Officially Open for All-Attendee Reception
  • 7 p.m. - Dinner and Program to Follow

For additional sponsorship and ticket information, contact the IU Southeast Department of Athletics at (812) 941-2432 or athletics@ius.edu. Tickets are $50 per person. Proceeds from the Champions Dinner go to fund the IU Southeast Athletic Department.

The Champions Dinner Awards

Awards will be given to the Male and Female Athlete of the Year. The Jim Morris Champions of Character Award, named in honor of former IU Southeast men’s basketball coach and first athletic director, Jim Morris will also be given. This award will be awarded to a student-athlete who exemplifies strong moral character and sportsmanship. We also award the Grenadier Gratitude Award and the Distinguished Athletic Alumni Award at the event.

The Champions Dinner Athletes

One main objective of the Champions Dinner is to reengage former Grenadier student-athletes. The Champions Dinner is a perfect forum for past teammates and friends to get together to tell stories and to relive the glory days of playing college athletics.

2016 Award Winners

Male Athlete of the Year
Trent Simpson (Baseball)

Female Athlete of the Year
Mary Dye (Women’s Basketball)

Jim Morris Champions of Character Award
Trent Wallace (Men’s Tennis)

Grenadier Gratitude Awards
Mr. Denny Ott
Dr. John Moody

Distinguished Athletic Alumni
Amy (Bogard) Alley (Women’s Basketball and Tennis)

Campus Events

Holiday Pops Spectacular image

Holiday Pops Spectacular

December 4th, 2016

3:00 PM - 4:30 PM

Fall Finals Begin image

Fall Finals Begin

December 5th, 2016

All day event

Stress Free Zones: Moonlight Breakfast IX image

Stress Free Zones: Moonlight Breakfast IX

December 5th, 2016

9:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Winter Session Classes Begin image

Winter Session Classes Begin

December 15th, 2016

All day event

Christmas Holiday - Campus Closed image

Christmas Holiday - Campus Closed

December 26th, 2016

All day event

New Year's Day - Campus Closed image

New Year's Day - Campus Closed

January 1st, 2017

All day event

Winter Session Classes End image

Winter Session Classes End

January 5th, 2017

All day event

Winter Session Finals image

Winter Session Finals

January 7th, 2017

All day event

Spring Classes Begin image

Spring Classes Begin

January 9th, 2017

All day event

Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Campus Closed image

Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Campus Closed

January 16th, 2017

All day event

Voices of Change Speech Contest image

Voices of Change Speech Contest

January 18th, 2017

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Neil Berg's 101 Years of Broadway image

Neil Berg's 101 Years of Broadway

January 20th, 2017

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

See All Events » Submit an Event »