Previous Page  8 / 40 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 8 / 40 Next Page
Page Background



IU Southeast presents Mid-Year Economic Update

During the 2015 Mid-Year Economic Update event, IU Southeast Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Sanders

Chair in Business Uric Dufrene spoke about national trends and the implications for the local economy. The event was

sponsored by the IU Southeast School of Business.

Dufrene highlighted the most recent data available for the Greater Louisville and Southern Indiana economy. He predicted

the economy in the region will decline this year, because job growth in the local market will be slower.

In addition to Dufrene’s presentation, the event included a networking breakfast and a public question-and-answer session.

IU Southeast graduate Zachary Pruet receives commission

as Second Lieutenant in U.S. Army

Zachary Pruet, ’15, a business

management major from Louisville,

Ky., was commissioned as a Second

Lieutenant in the U.S. Army during a

Commissioning Recognition Ceremony

preceding Commencement. New

Albany JROTC Commander Joe

Maynard was present a the ceremony.

Pruet transferred to IU Southeast as a

junior and was a recipient of the merit-

based Army ROTC scholarship. Pruet’s

assignment in the Army is an aviation

officer, flying Blackhawk helicopters

and C-12 Huron military aircrafts.

IU Southeast professor receives John W. Ryan Award

Dr. Magdalena Herdoiza-Estevez, IU Southeast School of Education professor, received

the 2015 John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs

and Studies.

Herdoiza-Estevez was the first faculty member in the School of Education and the second

faculty member at IU Southeast to receive the John W. Ryan Award. At IU Southeast, her

work has focused on international education and the sociology of education.

The John W. Ryan Award honors faculty members and librarians from all IU campuses

for noteworthy contributions to the university’s international programs and studies.

The award, which was initiated in 1991, is named for late Indiana University president

emeritus John W. Ryan.

Dr. Magdalena Herdoiza-Estevez.

L to R, Master Sergeant Adam Hiracheta – first salute, Cadet Zach Pruet, Chancellor Ray Wallace and

Lieutenant Colonel Nathan S. Surrey, Professor and Chair, Department of Military Science, Army ROTC,

University of Louisville