The Safe Zone program has been created to address the needs of our Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender students, faculty, staff and their allies. The program consists of training for students, faculty and staff to become safe zones. These individuals are there to listen and refer as well as be a safe space for others to share concerns, joys and experiences that they may not feel comfortable sharing in another setting.

For more information or to become a safe zone please contact:

Office of Equity & Diversity
Phone: (812) 941-2306

Dr. Meghan Kahn
Phone: (812) 941-2174

In general, complaints involving discrimination based on sexual orientation should be investigated by the Director of Staff Equity & Diversity. To file a complaint, contact:

Safe Zone members are listed below:

Name Email Contact
Aimee Adams
Annette Wyandotte
Barbara Thompson-Book
Basil Mumaw III
Brandy Wood
Brigette Adams
Brittany Hubbard
Channell Barbour *
Charles Pooser
Charlie Edelen
Chris Lang
Christine Thompson
Cindy Short
Cliff Staten
Dana Gohmann *
Darlene Young
David Taylor
Debra Campbell
Debra Eberle
Greg Phipps
Greg Roberts *
Gretchen Kirchner
Hong Cheng
James Hollenbeck
Jay McTyier
Jean Abshire
Jim Clements
Joanna Durham-Barnes
Joanna Goldstein
Julie Bethany
Julie Faulds
Kathy Meyer
Kelly Bowling
Kim Pelle
Kimberly Lewis
Leigh Ann Meyer
Leslie Turner
Linda Gilray
Linda Jasper
Lynn Prinz
Maria Accardi *
Matt Springer
Meghan Kahn *
Michael Abernethy
Michael Day *
Michael Jackman
Michelle Turner Snow
Mildred Vernia
Mindy Badia
Miranda Thomas
Monica Wise
Pam White
Rachel Kynhoff Delbridge **
Rebecca Turner
Rhonda Wrezenski
Robin Morgan
Ron Severtis Jr. *
Ruth Garvey-Nix
Sam Earley
Sarah Gierke *
Saundra Gordon
Seuth Chaleunphonh
Steve Bowman
Suzanne Broman
Todd Mandon
Tom O'Neal
Vicki Prince
Virginia Anderson
* Indicates Safe Zone Committee Member  
** Indicates Safe Zone Committee Chair  

Indiana University Southeast

4201 Grant Line Rd.
New Albany, IN 47150
(812) 941-2333

View the website in Español