Growing Tomorrow's STEM Teachers (GTST) Grant Program

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Teacher Recruitment Grant

A new IU Southeast School of Education two-year award was granted by the Indiana Commission for Higher Education to continue the recruitment, preparation and education of highly qualified pre-service and in-service STEM teachers in Indiana school corporations.

New aspects of the GTST 2020 Grant:

  • Offers $6,710 for graduate tuition and fees to 20 candidates enrolled in either IU Southeast’s Master of Science in Secondary Education or the Advance to Teaching post-baccalaureate program in a STEM area. Candidates can obtain their master’s or initial teaching license while still working.
  • Develops future Dual-Credit high school teachers that will be attuned to State requirements through a revised 30 hour Master of Secondary Education program with a concentration in a STEM content area with 18 hours in content and 12 hours in content pedagogy.
  • Offers professional development workshops and seminars for K-12 teachers that has direct relevance to all STEM teachers’ classrooms.
  • Updates current Dual-Credit high school teachers who do not meet the new Indiana’s Higher Learning Commission requirements to qualify for the new requirements through a Master of Secondary Education program with a concentration in a STEM content.
  • Recruits new, highly-qualified post-baccalaureate candidates into an initial teaching license in secondary education STEM areas through a State-approved Advance to Teaching licensure pathway
  • Provides long-term mentoring from education, natural science and industry personnel to assist these candidates to stay in the classroom.


Please contact Dr. Lisa Hoffman at for GTST 2020 program information.


Please complete the GTST 2020 Application before January 14, 2020.

GTST School Supporters: West Clark Community Schools, Greater Clark County Schools, Lanesville Community School Corporation, New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated School Corporation, and South Harrison Community School Corporation.

GTST Community & Business Partners: SAMTEC, Maker 13, Floyd County Soil & Water Conservation, Amatrol, and Johnson & Johnson.